Long bygone giants – Breeser Grund

Old oaks on Breeser Grund

Ghosts from foretime and future

When I revisit the area of Breeser Grund in the vast forest of Göhrde in Lower Saxony/Germany I feel as if I’m time traveling to an ancient age. Not only does the sudden wide open surprise me each time after having crossed through the tall woods, more astonishing is the change to a historic era so abruptly.

Maybe you wouldn’t notice your feeling of small disturbance the first time you come here, but one day it would struck you, too: indeed, this place is like a Jurassic Park for oaks. Most only the remains can be seen now. The old giants are dead and nearly gone. And – I guess – never to come back again. The giant oaks are gone forever here. Even though the area is marked and protected by law as a Natural Wood Area where forest industry and trade is prohibited, replanting of new oaks seems to be a futile endeavour.

Now in mid-February of 2014 temperatures are way too high for the season. The place should have been bitter cold and covered by snow these days. This week it was not only possible to go for a gentle long distance run but I had to get rid of my windbreaker to endure the continuous warm weather.

Call it a bit far-fetched thoughts about this place and time: But for me foretime and future came together when I strolled over the Breeser Grund and took the photographs of the fallen giants at this visit. I’d say, ghosts not only emerge from past times.

Leave a Reply

